Love and airplanes invitation

August 25, 2014 § Leave a comment

Oh hey!  Today I’m sharing a super sweet yet elegant invitation I designed for a gal who I went to college with.  Go Loggers!  She found me via Facebook (it’s amazing how much of my business comes from there!) and the rest was history.

airplane with hearts calligraphy wedding invitation

Krischel wanted an elegant invitation with a touch of playful travel elements thrown in.  She was pretty adamant about it not being “travel-themed” or kitschy and wanted to leave out anything travel-oriented at all if it was going to lean that direction.  Sometimes I have a tough job, but I make it work ya’ll!

I think what transpired is a great mix of the two.  To bump up the elegance factor,  I designed the invitation in mostly one color, which always looks very sophisticated.  Further, I used a mix of a gorgeous script font with additional calligraphic flourishes that I hand illustrated in.  For a classic, yet playful, travel touch I incorporated a vintage airplane motif and a simplistic heart flourish.  I love the way the gold and the just-barely-there blush look together.

airplane travel inspired invitation

For the wedding website card we came up with the idea of a state outline of Washington with some very adorable Douglas Fir trees, which was one of the reasons the couple picked their venue.  Ahh, getting married amidst the majestic beauty of these trees does sound magical doesn’t it?  This motif was also turned into custom postage stamps for the outer envelopes!

airplane travel inspired wedding invitation

airplane travel inspired inviation

Another little fun element we added in was the “seal”, like a travel/passport stamp, using a different version of the Douglas Fir trees motif.  I die!

travel inspired invitation

Alas, another invitation done and blogged!

xoxo,

Marissa

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Love and airplanes invitation at For The Love of Press.

meta

