Hand illustrated frame Save The Date

August 17, 2014 § Leave a comment

I’ve been wanting to share this beautiful Save The Date I designed and printed last month for a super stylish and classy client, Ozette. Per Ozette’s vision the design was inspired by the gorgeous work of ceramicist, Molly Hatch, whose creations can be found in stores like Anthropologie.  Her work is gorgeous and whimsical and I was super excited to get to recreate the look for these letterpress printed pieces.

 

frame and bow save the date

hand drawn bow and intricate frame with handwritten font invitation

illustrated frame with bow invitation

We went with our double thick, 2-ply paper…le sigh (*I still die every time I get to use this paper.  It’s that fab.*)  The design was hand drawn by me with a nice inky float pen to guarantee some imperfections and various line thicknesses.  In order to get the perfectly imperfect “font” which looks traditional but hand-drawn, I printed out the copy and, using a light box, I traced the font with my float pen.  All the hand drawn work was then scanned at a high resolution into my computer, turned into vector in Illustrator, and voila! a hand illustrated Save The Date from top to bottom.

What do you think of it?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Hand illustrated frame Save The Date at For The Love of Press.

meta

