Classic swirls invitation

August 14, 2012 § 2 Comments

Today I’m bringing you a beautiful traditional letterpress wedding invitation designed for a bride I never met, yet I feel like she must be the sweetest thing ever!  In keeping with her darling personality, we designed a simple, elegant suite in the oh so charming and preppy colors sage and coral.

We incorporated a classic wreath element and double border into the design, along with plenty of swirls and scrolls for that traditional feel.  For fonts we stuck with a mix of a classic serif, a formal engraved, and a romantic script.  However, this invitation actually REALLY challenged me design-wise because I have not had one classic, traditional invitation request since I started designing and because I really wanted to make sure it wasn’t so classic and traditional that it was like the others out there.  We still managed to make it modern and unique by including a “monogram” of the couple’s names along with a super wide stripe envelope liner (something the bride actually pushed me into!) which I love so much I’ve incorporated the same idea into some of my other work.

I really enjoyed the chance to design something simple and traditional and was super thrilled to hear the bride exclaim she would be framing the whole suite to save for posterity!  How cool!

Isn’t the color combination just adorable?

xoxo,

Marissa

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Classic swirls invitation

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Classic swirls invitation at For The Love of Press.

meta

