Illustrated Woodland Wedding Invitations

March 14, 2012 § 2 Comments

Every so often I get the privilege to design an invitation suite for a friend, which is always super fun!  When my friend Jennie approached me for “woodsy, Northwest, outdoorsy” invitations I was super stoked.  Best part is…they gave me free reign to design to my heart’s content, which I rarely get to do.  Most brides have a pretty good idea of what they would like to see on their invitations, which I totally understand, but the chance to envision the whole concept with no “limits” was very freeing and I often feel I do my best work this way.

I decided to go with a design inspired by the increasingly popular woodland theme.  “Woodland” is exactly what Jennie and Alex were looking for- it usually involves animals, twigs, trees, branches, and wood and is perfect for the outdoorsy, casual, “greener” types- just like them.

Because they are getting married on Orcas Island, at Doe Bay, I immediately envisioned Orca whales & deer, doh!  Combined with hand drawn trees, wooden signs, waving banners, and other details from nature this invitation radiates a true outdoorsy, natural feel…yet it is elegant too.  We used my favorite 100% cotton paper for their printed pieces and recycled Kraft envelopes & belly bands (subtly blind impressed with their wedding “logo”; half of a pine wreath with deer portrait) to hold everything together.  Way to be “green”!  We also incorporated earthy muslin bags to add a little more texture, which were hand-stamped with a second version of their logo (a full pine wreath with a deer silhouette), also seen on the flap of the envelopes in a slightly different version as a return address stamp.

Almost every detail was hand-drawn first, which I then converted into vector graphics for printing.  Hand drawn illustrations are just absolutely beautiful when letterpressed- such a neat combination!  I want to do morrreee.

These invites are packed with tons of little details carried throughout the whole suite, from the little mini wooden sign marking “Doe Bay” on the invitation piece, to the super detailed ferry boat on the Map Card, to the little deer peeking out everywhere and pine cones making appearances throughout.

Guess it’s best if I just let you have a look for yourself.

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Illustrated Woodland Wedding Invitations

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Illustrated Woodland Wedding Invitations at For The Love of Press.

meta

